The SEPTIC System

Echoing Dan’s: Open Letter to Medical Marijuana Community

In District Attorney on January 1, 2010 at 3:04 pm

From The Tall Dark and Bitter Blogs of Dannabis; and echoed by many others!

See the full story here; http://dannabissd.blogspot.com/2009/12/open-letter-to-medical-marijuana.html

Open Letter to Medical Marijuana Community of San Diego, leadership, and organizers.

My name is Dan Murphy, but my name is not important.

I have been to meetings, rallies, and trials. But what I have done is not important.

What I have seen and heard is what is important.

Riddle me this, who wins when we fight each other? Who Loses?

Please tell me I am not the only one that sees this!

The infighting in the Medical Marijuana movement is too prevalent to be coincidental. San Diego is no exception.

I am calling out the leadership, organizers, and membership of the Medical Marijuana movement in San Diego to drop the juvenile rivalry or the movement, and your agendas will fail here.

Is this what you want?

I believe we as activists have only one choice; we need to drop the schoolyard bickering and keep in mind who is laughing while we tear ourselves apart from within. We need to open our eyes to who the true enemy is and focus all our energy and resources on them.

What is the alternative?

I know you all have the intelligence and drive. It seems like you have the extra time as well. If you cannot come up with ideas how to become more cooperative and focused then I have some for you.

We need an organized, friendly, all inclusive rally. Not against anyone, but supporting everyone’s rights to choose their own medical path.

Show your leadership by organizing a rally that doesn’t have your name all over it. One that is open to all groups. One that is not simply a donation/membership drive.

Who is going to step up?

My mission statement “I am willing to adopt common goals to overcome common adversaries and achieve common interests.” should be the basis for all movement related activities. Instead the movement is clouded by too much ego.

I do not want to lead this movement;

I cannot afford to lead this movement. Are you going to ignore me, attack the message, or attack the messenger?

You can choose to ignore this message. But will your membership? If you want to refocus your efforts toward mutual cooperation then SPEAK UP!

You can attack the message. If you truly believe that mutual cooperation is counter to the goals of the movement then say so. I am sure your membership would want to know and understand this.

You can attack the messenger. I am a nobody, an observer. I have already lost my career, as a convicted grower my options are quite limited. My reputation in the MMJ community is minimal at best. Any public attack would only server to increase my status.

But if it takes a “nobody” like me to bring this movement together in San Diego then I can be that “nobody”.

No, your best move at this point is to quietly refocus your energies toward the real enemies and when challenged to state that was your position all along. All the while minimizing the infighting to a point of irrelevance.

If you do not see the rivalry and infighting then bless you. You are focused. Remind others of your vision.

All I ask is for every one of us to pick our battles, define our enemy, and align with others that share that same adversary.

Perhaps you can join me, Above The Fray.

Sincerely and from the bottom of my heart.
Dan Murphy, a concerned cannabis activist

See also:

  1. This letter is good but the one on the link that says, “who is Dan Murphy” I think is even better. It is sad that it has reached the point it has. I wish I had the answers, but I don’t.
    I have no idea what to do.
    I hope that 2010 is better. I know I have two of the best possible people who have stepped in to represent me, and I am going to let go of the outcome, as If I have learned one thing in all this, is that the San Diego injustice system is a meatgrinder with it’s own self interest. There is control on the media and the judges. Winning or losing is part good legal work, good actual facts, and having a judge actually willing to preside over a fair and unbiased trial, this latter being extremely important and totally out of my hands. I am letting go. As far as the infighting it is very real, and I am mixed up in it, it is not fun or healthy, and I have absolutely no idea how to deal with it.
    You are a good guy and could probably shine a path for a few of us walking blindly down this road.

Leave a Reply

